Research Guides: Newspaper Sources: Historical and Older Newspapers

Historical Newspapers and Collections
Local Historical

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
African American Newspapers, Series 1, 1827-1998, provides online access to 280 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection, which includes papers from more than 35 states, features many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles.
American periodicals series online, 1740-1900 This link opens in a new window
Consists of digitized reproductions of more than 1,100 eighteenth and nineteenth century newspapers and periodicals in the original microfilm reproduction series, American periodical series, I, II, and III. When completed in 2003, this database will have more than 7,000,000 pages of full text periodicals.

Digitized U.S. Newspapers from the Library of Congress (1836-1922)
"Chronicaling America" includes historic American newspapers, published between 1836 and 1922, selected and contributed by state partners in the National Digital Newspaper Program. [Note: This is NOT a comprehensive list.]

Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Consisting of every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas onThe American Revolution, The French Revolution and The Industrial Revolution.

Library of Congress: Chronicling America
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Nineteenth Century Collections
Nineteenth Century Collections Online is a digitized collection of primary sources related to the nineteenth century. Materials within the collection consist of monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more. Four archives are available: "British Politics and Society;" "European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection;" "Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange;" and "British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture."

ProQuest Current & Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Historical Newspapers in this database include: The Baltimore Afro-American, Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, Clevland Call and Post, Detroit Free Press (1831-1922), Los Angeles Sentinel, New York Amsterdam News, The New York Times, Norfolk Journal and Guide, Philadelphia Tribune, Pittsburgh Courier, The Wallstreet Journal, The Washington Post
ProQuest History Vault This link opens in a new window
Primary source materials from its University Publications of America (UPA) Collection in a digital format. ProQuest History Vault unlocks the wealth of archival materials with a single search. Researchers can access letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and much more from a single interface.

U.S. Newspaper Directory (1690 - present). Library of Congress.
The Newspaper Title Directory is derived from the library catalog records created by state institutions during the NEH-sponsored United States Newspaper Program, 1980-2007. Search WorldCat or libraries' online catalogs for current holdings.
Virginia Gazette
The Virginia Gazette was the official newspaper of Virginia, printed in Williamsburg from 1736 until 1780. When the capital of Virginia moved to Richmond in 1780, printers transferred their businesses to the new seat of government. Both Dixon & Nicolson and Clarkson & Davis resumed their papers in Richmond.

Detroit Free Press Backfile (1923-1999) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Detroit Free Press offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Detroit Free Press Historical Full-Text (1831-1922) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Detroit Free Press offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Detroit News (back issues) This link opens in a new window
Access to the daily Detroit News full-text from May 23, 2006 to the November 18, 2011 via Proquest.
Detroit News Historical and Current Collection This link opens in a new window
The Detroit News Collection : Search more than 145 years of Detroit history with The Detroit News Collection. Coverage from 1873 through today. Explore current and archived issues of The Detroit News with full-color newspaper pages and individual articles.

The Michigan Chronicle
Full text online from August 2006 - present. 1943-2015 available on microfilm in the Purdy-Kresge Library.

Google Newspaper Digitization Project

Google News Archive Search

Google News Archive Browse

Google has decided to end its newspaper digitization project. Existing content, about 60 million pages from 2,000 newspapers, will remain available, but no new content will be added. See American Libraries article. (5/24/2011)

How to: Search a Database for Newspaper Sources

Depending on the database, you may need to refine your results to search for newspaper sources only. In most databases, this can be done by:

If not on campus, log on with your Access ID and Password when redirected to the EZ Proxy webpage
Click "Advanced Search" near the search bar
Look for "Content Type" or "Source Type" or "Publication Type" options
Click on or check a box that says "Newspaper" or "Newspaper & Periodicals"
Continue your search terms using the search bar

However, most of the links within this guide will lead you directly to Newspaper refined results of the database.

Resources

Services

Information

Help

Community

Newspaper Sources: Historical and Older Newspapers

Google Newspaper Digitization Project

How to: Search a Database for Newspaper Sources

Resources

Services

Information

Help

Community

Community

Sign In

Newspaper Sources: Historical and Older Newspapers

Google Newspaper Digitization Project

How to: Search a Database for Newspaper Sources

Community

Sign In