Research Guides: Newspaper Sources: International

Canadian Newsstream
This database offers unparalleled access to the full text of over 190 Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading publishers. This full text database includes the complete available electronic backfile for most newspapers, providing full access to the articles, columns, editorials and features published in each. Some backfiles date as far back as the late 1970s.
International Newsstream
International Newsstream provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. ProQuest International Newsstream provides information from more than 660 of the world's top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.

Newsbank This link opens in a new window
NewsBank NewsFile collection is a full-text news resource containing comprehensive coverage of current issues and events from over 500 US and Canadian newspapers, news sources and domestic and international newswires. More than 70,000 articles selected annually provide regional, national and international perspectives and in-depth coverage of the arts, and people and professions in the news.
Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory This link opens in a new window
Contains information on currently published as well as discontinued periodicals. Includes magazines, journals, newsletters, newspapers, conference proceedings, and electronic publications. When looking specifically for Newspaper Sources from this database go to "Advanced Search" and checkmark the box under "Serial Type" that says "Newspaper"

How to: Search a Database for Newspaper Sources

Depending on the database, you may need to refine your results to search for newspaper sources only. In most databases, this can be done by:

If not on campus, log on with your Access ID and Password when redirected to the EZ Proxy webpage
Click "Advanced Search" near the search bar
Look for "Content Type" or "Source Type" or "Publication Type" options
Click on or check a box that says "Newspaper" or "Newspaper & Periodicals"
Continue your search terms using the search bar

However, most of the links within this guide will lead you directly to Newspaper refined results of the database.