Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Newspaper Source Plus
Newspaper Source Plus provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
Gale Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
Gale Primary Resources
Gale Primary Resources is a portal that searches across multiple collections of primary resources.
This resource contains databases on a broad range of topics.
Proquest Current & Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Current issues of major newspapers and access to historical newspapers. Includes access to 17 newspaper sources: Chicago Tribune, Ethnic Newswatch, Los Angeles Times and ProQuest Historical Newspapers including The Baltimore Afro-American, Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, Clevland Call and Post, Detroit Free Press (1831-1922), Los Angeles Sentinel, New York Amsterdam News, The New York Times, Norfolk Journal and Guide, Philadelphia Tribune, Pittsburgh Courier, The Wallstreet Journal, The Washington Post
Searches multiple ProQuest databases (ABI Inform, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, National Newspaper Abstracts, ProQuest Nursing Journals, and Research Library) simultaneously.
ProQuest Research Library
Includes citations and articles - many full text - on a broad range of topics including arts, business, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests from a mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
How to: Search a Database for Newspaper Sources
Depending on the database, you may need to refine your results to search for newspaper sources only. In most databases, this can be done by:
- If not on campus, log on with your Access ID and Password when redirected to the EZ Proxy webpage
- Click "Advanced Search" near the search bar
- Look for "Content Type" or "Source Type" or "Publication Type" options
- Click on or check a box that says "Newspaper" or "Newspaper & Periodicals"
- Continue your search terms using the search bar
However, most of the links within this guide will lead you directly to Newspaper refined results of the database.