Chicago Style 17th Edition Examples - Books
Listed below are examples of proper formatting of bibliographic references (B) and a corresponding footnote/endnote (N) for each source type.
- General Format for Books
B: Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year of publication.
N: 1. First Name Last Name, Title of Book (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year of publication), page number.
- One Author
B: Kerouac, Jack. The Dharma Bums. New York: Viking Press, 1958.
N: 1. Jack Kerouac, The Dharma Bums (New York: Viking Press, 1958), 128.
- Two Authors
B: Lash, Scott, and John Urry. Economies of Size and Space. London: Sage Publications, 1994
N: 2. Scott Lash and John Urry, Economies of Size and Space (London: Sage Publications, 1994), 241-51.
- More than Two Authors
B: Evans, Julie, Patricia Grimshaw, David Philips, and Shurlee Swain. Equal Subjects, Unequal Rights: Indigenous Peoples in British Settler Societies. Manchester: Manchester University Press, 2003.
N: 3. Julie Evans et al., Equal Subjects, Unequal Rights: Indigenous Peoples in British Settler Societies (Manchester: Manchester University Press, 2003), 29.
- No author, anonymous
Sources that have no known author or editor should be cited by title. Follow the basic format for bibliographic and footnote/endnote entries that are exemplified above, omitting author and/or editor names and beginning respective entries with the title of the source.
- Translated work with one author
B: Cortázar, Julio. Hopscotch. Translated by Gregory Rabassa. New York: Pantheon Books, 1966.
N: 4. Julio Cortázar, Hopscotch, trans. Gregory Rabassa (New York: Pantheon Books, 1966), 165.
- Book with Author and Editor
B: Tylor, Edward B. Researches into the Early Development of Mankind and the Development of Civilization. Edited by Paul Bohannan. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1964.
N: 5. Edward B. Tylor, Researches into the Early Development of Mankind and the Development of Civilization, ed. Paul Bohannan (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1964), 194.
- Contributions from an edited collection with various authored chapters
B: Harris, Muriel. “Talk to Me: Engaging Reluctant Writers.” In A Tutor's Guide: Helping Writers One to One, edited by Ben Rafoth, 24-34. New Hampshire: Heinemann, 2000.
N: 6. Muriel Harris, “Talk to Me: Engaging Reluctant Writers,” in A Tutor's Guide: Helping Writers One to One, ed. Ben Rafoth (New Hampshire: Heinemann, 2000), 24-34.
- Self-Published or Privately Published Book
B: Long, Kathleen. Chasing Rainbows: A Novel. Self-published, CreateSpace, 2011.
N: 7. Kathleen Long, Chasing Rainbows: A Novel (self-pub., CreateSpace, 2011).
- Edition of a book
B: Strunk, William, Jr., and E. B. White. The Elements of Style. 4th ed. New York: Allyn and Bacon, 2000.
N: 8. William Strunk Jr. and E. B. White, The Elements of Style, 4th ed. (New York: Allyn and Bacon, 2000), 21.
- Introduction, Preface, or Afterword
B: Pinker, Steven. Introduction to What is Your Dangerous Idea?, xxiii-xxxiii. Edited by John Brockman. New York: Harper Perennial, 2007.
N: 9. Steven Pinker, introduction to What is Your Dangerous Idea?, ed. John Brockman (New York: Harper Perennial, 2007), xxv.
- E-book
B: Davidson, Donald. Essays on Actions and Events. Oxford: Clarendon, 2001. https://bibliotecamathom.files.wordpress.com/2012/10/essays-on-actions-and-events.pdf.
N: 10. Donald Davidson, Essays on Actions and Events (Oxford: Clarendon, 2001), https://bibliotecamathom.files.wordpress.com/2012/10/essays-on-actions-and-events.pdf.
- E-book from a database
B: Borel, Brooke. Infested: How the Bed But Infiltrated Our Bedrooms and Took Over the World. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2015. EBSCOhost.
N: 11. Brooke Borel, Infested: How the Bed Bug Infiltrated Our Bedrooms and Took Over the World (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2015), 59, EBSCOhost.
- Chapter in an e-book (include the URL which is based on the DOI for the specific chapter instead of the work as a whole)
B: Bonds, Mark Evan. Absolute Music: The History of an Idea. New York: Oxford University Press, 2014. https://doi.org/10.1093/acprof:oso/9780199343638.001.0001
N: 12. Mark Evan Bonds, Absolute Music: The History of an Idea (New York: Oxford University Press, 2014), chap. 3, https://doi.org/10.1093/acprof:oso/9780199343638.001.0001.
- Chicago Style Manual 17th Edition
B: University of Chicago Press. The Chicago Manual of Style. 17th ed. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2017.
N: 13. University of Chicago Press, The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th ed. (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2017), 791-94.
- A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, 9th Ed. by Kate L. Turabian
B: Turabian, Kate L. A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations. 9th ed. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2018.
N: 14. Kate L. Turabian, A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, 9th ed. (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2018), 319-20.
More on E-Books:
If the book is read using a device (such as a Kindle, NOOK, Google Play books, etc), write your bibliographic reference/footnote/endnote just like a normal book but add the name of the device at the end.
For books consulted online (such as through the Wayne State library or a free electronic version) always include the URL/DOI at the end.
E-Books in footnotes/endnotes:
If a location number needs to be cited or referred to for any reason, include both the specific location and the total number of locations. For example:
3. Mary Ann Noe, Ivory Trenches: Adventures of an English Teacher (self-pub., Amazon Digital Services, 2016), loc. 444 of 3023, Kindle.
In a note, information about the e-book follows any page or other locator information.
More Chicago Style Guides
The Chicago Manual of Style by Call Number: Z 253 .U69 2017ISBN: 9780226287058Publication Date: 2017-09-05
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by ISBN: 9780226823362Publication Date: 2007-04-15
- The Writer's Handbook: Chicago/Turabian Documentation GuideThe University of Wisconsin - Madison provides a quick resource for citing references in papers using the Chicago Style Manual, 17th ed.
- Purdue OWL: Chicago Manual of Style Formatting & Style GuideThis resource offers examples for the general format of Chicago Style research papers, endnotes/footnotes, and bibliographic citations.
- Citation Style ChartA handy side-by-side comparison of APA, MLA and Chicago styles.