Connect with the Libraries
Have an idea for Subject of the Month?
February 2015
Selector: Anne Hudson
This year's annual Black History Month Theme is: A Century of Black Life, History and Culture. The print books on display in the Purdy Library and the electronic resources provided in this guide have been selected to provide information about the people and organizations involved in promoting African American History over the last 100 years. Certainly a focal point of the online guide will be a study of Carter Woodson who founded the Association for the study of African American Life and History in 1915. I hope you enjoy the information provided.
Featured Databases February 2015
- African American Experience This link opens in a new windowAn online collection on African American life, The African American Experience is an electronic research tool for African American history and culture. The two primary goals: to provide rock-solid information from authorities in the field, and to allow African Americans to speak for themselves through a wealth of primary sources. Designed under the guidance of leading librarians, this database gives voice to the black experience from its African origins to the present day.
- Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new windowThe Oxford African American Studies Center is a comprehensive collection of scholarship available online to focus on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by ethnic and minority presses in the United States
E Books
Icons of African American Protest by ISBN: 9781573567367Publication Date: 2009-01-01Protest has always been a catalyst for change. Throughout history protest has been used to combat economic and political oppression, racism, discrimination, and exclusion from mainstream America.- African American Females byISBN: 9781609173890Publication Date: 2013-07-01African American Females: Addressing Challenges and Nurturing the Future illustrates that across education, health, and other areas of social life, opportunities are stratified along gender as well as race lines.
African American Fraternities and Sororities by ISBN: 9780813135816Publication Date: 2012-02-10The first African American fraternities and sororities were established at the turn of the twentieth century to encourage leadership, racial pride, and academic excellence among black college students confronting the legacy of slavery and the indignities of Jim Crow segregation.
Featured Videos February 2015
Black History Month Events
- African-Americans at the WSU Medical SchoolInteresting Exhibit available for viewing at the Shiffman Medical Library through February.
African American Music, Art, and Literature
National Museum of African American Music - http://nmaam.org/
National Gallery of Art - https://www.nga.gov/collection/gallery/ggafamer/ggafamer-main1.html
Detroit Institute of Arts - http://www.dia.org/art/african-american.aspx
Charles H. Wright Museum of African American History - http://thewright.org
Archie Givens Sr. Collection of African American Literature - https://www.lib.umn.edu/scrbm/givens
Carter Woodson
http://www.naacp.org/pages/naacp-history-Carter-G.-Woodson - Biographical information about the "Father of Black History"
http://www.africanamericanhistorymonth.gov/woodson.html - A profile of Carter G. Woodson
Selma
http://www.archives.gov/exhibits/eyewitness/html.php?section=2 - Documents from John Lewis, a participant in the March from Selma to Montgomery.
http://www.americaslibrary.gov/jb/modern/jb_modern_selma_1.html - Description of the events leading up to the March "Bloody Sunday" Alabama State Police attack on John Lewis and other Voting Rights protestors.
Featured Websites, February 2015
http://asalh100.org/ - The Association for the study of African American Life and History, founded in 1915 by Carter G. Woodson.
http://nmaahc.si.edu/About - The Smithsonian Institution in Washington DC is currently building a National Museum of African American History and Culture. Some of the online collections are already live and searchable.
http://nul.iamempowered.com/what-we-do - The National Urban League promoted the Harlem Renaissance.
http://www.nypl.org/about/locations/schomburg/digital-schomburg/online-exhibitions - The Schomburg Research Center in Black Culture has a digital collection freely available.
http://library.howard.edu/MSRC - Howard University's Moorland-Spingarn Research Center is an excellent research source for materials about the Black experience.