Connect with the Libraries
Have an idea for Subject of the Month?
December 2015
Selectors: Mike Hawthorne and Emily Brush
“Darkness cannot drive out darkness: only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate: only love can do that.”
- Martin Luther King Jr., A Testament of Hope: The Essential Writings and Speeches
November 2015 Paris Attacks - Demonstrations of Peace and Love
"Peace for Paris," Jean Jullien
- Circle Of Hope: How A Raw Reaction Became A Sign Of SolidarityIn the aftermath of the coordinated terror attacks on Paris, people around the world have been taking to social media to share their grief and show support for the French people. One image, in particular, has become a kind of icon of international solidarity: a simple, but powerful, black-and-white ink drawing of a peace sign — with the Eiffel Tower at its heart.
- Terror attacks inspire a made-in-Montreal 'act of love'3 Montreal roommates use weekly YouTube program to promote a message of unity against fear
Paris and Beirut woke up to messages of solidarity from around the world, after activists pasted letters of support on walls in the two cities, one week after the attacks. Video shot by Travis Beard in Lebanon and Avaaz in France.
Journals & Databases
- Online journal of peace and conflict resolutionA resource for students, teachers and practitioners in fields relating to the reduction and elimination of destructive conflict.
- International journal of peace studiesInternational Peace Research Association. Global Political Economy Study Commission.
- Peace and Conflict StudiesNetwork of Peace and Conflict Studies
- Current research on peace and violenceTampere Peace Research Institute, 1978-1990
- Peace Research AbstractsPeace Research Abstracts covers areas related to peace research, including conflict resolution, international affairs, peace psychology, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Nobel Peace Prize
The Nobel Peace Prize is an international prize which is awarded annually by the Norwegian Nobel Committee according to guidelines laid down in Alfred Nobel's will. The Peace Prize is one of five prizes that have been awarded annually since 1901 for outstanding contributions in the fields of physics, chemistry, physiology or medicine, literature, and peace.
Nobel Peace Prize, The Norwegian Nobel Institute
Peace, They Say by Call Number: electronic resourceISBN: 9781594035999Publication Date: 2012-03-27Jay Nordlinger gives a history of the most famous and controversial prize in the world, the Nobel Peace Prize. The Nobel Prize involves a first world war, a second world war, a cold war, a terror war, and more. It contends with many of the key issues of modern times, and of life itself. Peace, They Say is enlightening and enriching, and sometimes even fun. It has its opinions, but it also provides what is necessary for readers to form their own opinions. What is peace, anyway?
Champions for Peace by Call Number: Undergraduate Library JZ 5540 .S74 2006ISBN: 9780742540255Publication Date: 2006-07-27Since it was first awarded in 1901, only twelve women have won the Nobel Prize for Peace. Hailing from all over the world, including the United States, Europe, Asia, the Middle East, Africa, and Central America, some have held graduate degrees, while others are barely schooled. This book shows their varied lives in fascinating detail. All learned that peace is not always popular, but believed they must persevere.
Ralph Bunche received the Nobel Peace Prize in 1950 for having arranged a cease-fire between Israelis and Arabs during the war which followed the creation of the state of Israel in 1948. He was also involved in the formation and administration of the United Nations.
Ralph Bunche Summer Institute, Damon J. Keith Center for Civil Rights
- WSU Ralph Bunche Summer InstituteIn partnership with Wayne State's Peace and Conflict Studies graduate program, the Keith Center hosts high school students for a five-day immersion course inspired by the work of diplomat and political scientist Ralph Bunche, a native of Detroit and the first person of color to receive the Nobel Peace Prize.
- Ralph Bunche [videorecording] : an American odysseyBased on the biography Ralph Bunche : an American life / by Brian Urquhart.
Documentary of Ralph Bunche's life as a statesman and diplomat. He was one of the founders of the United Nations and later received the Nobel Prize for his peacemaking efforts.
*Available in the Undergraduate Library DVD Collection (DVD RAL).
Ralph Bunche by Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Library Juvenile Biography B881Sch7ISBN: 0766012034Publication Date: 1999-04-01Discusses the personal and professional life of the statesman and diplomat who was one of the founders of the United Nations and who received the Nobel Prize for his peacemaking efforts.
Ralph Bunche by Call Number: Undergraduate Library E 748 .B885 U76 1993ISBN: 9780393035278Publication Date: 1993-09-01From modest beginnings, Ralph Bunche rose to become one of the architects of the United Nations and winner of the Nobel Peace Prize. He was a most effective diplomat with a string of successes in the world's trouble spots including Palestine, Cyprus and the Congo. In this portrayal, we see how Bunche's racial consciousness and pride were forged and how they sustained him through a lifetime's battle with prejudice.
Martin Luther King Jr. accepting the Nobel Peace Prize in 1964
"King Jr., Martin Luther," The Sixties in America Reference Library, 2005. From U.S. History in Context
- Martin Luther King Jr. Nobel Lecture"The Quest for Peace and Justice"
*Listen to a two minute excerpt of the speech
Martin Luther King, Jr. by Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Library Juvenile Biography K585P28ISBN: 0756603420Publication Date: 2004-08-23Tells the amazing story of struggle and triumph of one of the greatest Civil Rights leaders, Martin Luther King, Jr. Full-color photographs of people, places, and artifacts, definitions of key words, and sidebars on related subjects add dimension and relevance to stories of famous lives that students will love to read. Supports the Common Core State Standards.
The Autobiography of Martin Luther King, Jr by Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Library E 185.97 .K5 A52 1998ISBN: 9780446524124Publication Date: 1998-11-01Celebrated Stanford University historian Clayborne Carson is the director and editor of the Martin Luther King Papers Project; with thousands of King's essays, notes, letters, speeches, and sermons at his disposal, Carson has organized King's writings into a posthumous autobiography. Through King's voice, the reader intimately shares in his trials and triumphs, including the Montgomery Boycott, the 1963 "I Have a Dream Speech," the Selma March, and the 1964 Nobel Peace Prize.
Martin Luther King Jr.: apostle of militant nonviolence by Call Number: Undergraduate Library E 185.97 .K5 C65 1993ISBN: 0312088434Publication Date: 1992-12-15In this exemplary work of scholarly synthesis the author traces the course of events from the emergence of Martin Luther King, Jr. as a national black spokesman during the Montgomery bus boycott to his radical critique of American society and foreign policy during the last years of his life. He also provides the first in-depth analysis of King's famous Letter from Birmingham Jail - a manifesto of the American civil rights movement and an eloquent defense of non-violent protest.
Betty Williams and Mairead Corrigan received the 1976 Nobel Peace Prize for founding Community of Peace People, an organization dedicated to promoting a peaceful resolution to the Troubles in Northern Ireland.
"Heroines of Peace - The Nine Nobel Women," Irwin Abrams, nobelprize.org
- History of Peace PeopleThe history of the Peace People movement led by Betty Williams and Mairead Corrigan.
- Peacemaking From the Grassroots In a World of Ethnic ConflictMaguire, Mairead Corrigan
The Tanner Lectures on Human Values
Delivered at University of California, Riverside
March 4, 1996 - PEACE BY PEACE? SOCIO-ECONOMIC STRUCTURES AND THE ROLE OF THE PEACE PEOPLE IN NORTHERN IRELANDMalvern Lumsden
Current Research on Peace and Violence
Vol. 1, No. 1 (1978), pp. 41-52
The Vision of Peace by Call Number: Undergraduate Library DA 990 .U46 M364 1999ISBN: 1570752516Publication Date: 1999-02-01The Vision of Peace, edited by John Dear, features the first ever collection of writings by Mairead Corrigan Maguire, the 1976 Nobel Peace Prize Winner from Belfast.
The 14th Dalai Lama received the Nobel Peace Prize in 1989 for his consistent resistance to the use of violence in his struggle to end Chinese domination of his homeland, Tibet.
- Dalai Lama Nobel Peace Lecture 1989"Today, we are truly a global family. What happens in one part of the world may affect us all. This, of course, is not only true of the negative things that happen, but is equally valid for the positive developments. We not only know what happens elsewhere, thanks to the extraordinary modern communications technology. We are also directly affected by events that occur far away."
- A Rhetoric Of Nonviolence: The Dalai Lama's 1989 Nobel Peace Prize LectureThis article examines the Dalai Lama's Nobel Prize speech as it demonstrates his capability as a public intellectual and broadens and renews the tradition of nonviolent rhetoric practiced by Mahatma Gandhi and Martin Luther King. Throughout the speech, the Dalai Lama employs a rhetoric of nonviolence forged in Buddhist principles, one that supports a rhetoric of peace that does not depend on the divisiveness of Western political rhetoric but on a recognition of common humanity and shared responsibility.
- A Human Approach to World Peace: His Holiness the Dalai Lama"For renewal of human values and attainment of lasting happiness, we need to look to the common humanitarian heritage of all nations the world over. May this essay serve as an urgent reminder lest we forget the human values that unite us all as a single family on this planet."
The Dalai Lama by Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Library Juvenile 294.3 D395dISBN: 080505443XPublication Date: 1998-03-15Included is a foreword written by The Dalai Lama. The work of the Dalai Lama and the fate of Tibet are topics of ever growing international focus. In simple language and glorious art, Demi pays tribute to the fourteenth Dalai Lama's remarkable life. She captures the beauty of Tibetan culture, as well as the charm, talent, and vision of one of the world's best-known spiritual figures.
Long road: Nelson Mandela (L) and F.W.De Klerk (R)
posing for a photograph with medals and diplomas as they share the Nobel Peace Price 1993
"The Norwegian Nobel Committee has decided to award the Nobel Peace Prize for 1993 to Nelson R. Mandela and Frederik Willem de Klerk for their work for the peaceful termination of the apartheid regime, and for laying the foundations for a new, democratic South Africa."
"Announcement," Nobel Peace Prize for 1993, Norwegian Nobel Committee
- QUEST FOR PEACE IN AFRICAby Mandela, Nelson
"We are all too aware that peace is more than just the absence of war."
International Journal of Peace Studies, 07/1996, Volume 1, Issue 2
Mandela by Call Number: electronic resourceISBN: 9781586488321Publication Date: 2010-03-30Nelson Mandela stands out as one of the most admired political figures of the twentieth century. It was his leadership and moral courage above all that helped to deliver a peaceful end to apartheid in South Africa after years of racial division and violence and to establish a fledgling democracy there. Meredith has revisited and significantly updated his biography to incorporate a decade of additional perspective and hindsight on the man and his legacy and to examine how far his hopes for the new South Africa have been realized.
Nelson Mandela by Call Number: electronic resourceISBN: 9780192803016Publication Date: 2008-08-01As well as being a remarkable statesman and one of the world's longest-detained political prisoners, Nelson Mandela has become an exemplary figure of non-racialism and democracy, a moral giant. Set within a biographical frame, this Very Short Introduction explores the reasons why his story is so important to us in the world at large today, and what his achievements signify.
"The Norwegian Nobel Committee has decided to award the Nobel Peace Prize for 2004 to Wangari Maathai for her contribution to sustainable development, democracy and peace. Peace on earth depends on our ability to secure our living environment. Maathai stands at the front of the fight to promote ecologically viable social, economic and cultural development in Kenya and in Africa. She has taken a holistic approach to sustainable development that embraces democracy, human rights and women's rights in particular. She thinks globally and acts locally."
"Announcement," The Nobel Peace Prize for 2004, The Norwegian Nobel Committee
- The Nobel Lecture given by Wangari Maathai(Oslo, December 10, 2004)
- Nobel Laureate Wangari Maathai: A Global Icon Of ConservationWangari Maathai won the Nobel Peace Prize in 2004 for her work promoting environmental stewardship, empowering women and peaceful resistance to violence.
Unbowed by Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Library SB 63 .M22 A3 2006ISBN: 9780307263483Publication Date: 2006-10-03Hugely charismatic, humble, and possessed of preternatural luminosity of spirit, Wangari Maathai, the winner of the 2004 Nobel Peace Prize and a single mother of three, recounts her extraordinary life as a political activist, feminist, and environmentalist in Kenya.
Wangari's Trees of Peace by Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Library Juvenile Biography M112W5ISBN: 9780152065454Publication Date: 2008-09-21This true story of Wangari Maathai, environmentalist and winner of the Nobel Peace Prize, is a shining example of how one woman's passion, vision, and determination inspired great change. Includes an author's note.
The Challenge for Africa by Call Number: Undergraduate Library JQ 1875 .M33 2009ISBN: 9780307377401Publication Date: 2009-04-07Wangari Maathai, Nobel Peace Prize laureate and founder of the Green Belt Movement, offers a refreshingly unique perspective on the challenges facing Africa, even as she calls for a moral revolution among Africans themselves. The troubles of Africa today are severe and wide-ranging. Yet what we see of them in the media, more often than not, are tableaux vivantes connoting poverty, dependence, and desperation. Wangari Maathai presents a different vision, informed by her three decades as an environmental activist and campaigner for democracy.
"The Norwegian Nobel Committee has decided that the Nobel Peace Prize for 2014 is to be awarded to Kailash Satyarthi and Malala Yousafzai for their struggle against the suppression of children and young people and for the right of all children to education."
"Announcement," The Nobel Peace Prize for 2014, Norwegian Nobel Committee
- The Nobel Lecture given by Malala Yousafzai(Oslo, December 10, 2014)
- 'He Named Me Malala' documentary to inspire and empower all2015 South End article written by Anjelica Dudek on 'He Named Me Malala," a documentary which "lets viewers get to know Malala Yousafzai, her father Ziauddin Yousafzai and the rest of their family through intimate interviews and scenes of familiar kin interactions."
WSU Center for Peace and Conflict Studies
The mission of the Center for Peace & Conflict Studies is to develop and implement projects, programs, curricula, research, and publications in areas of scholarship related to international and domestic peace, war, social justice, arms control, globalization, multicultural awareness and constructive conflict resolution.
"About the Center," Wayne State University Center for Peace & Conflict Studies, College of Liberal Arts
Community Conflict Resolution Services
The WSU Center for Peace and Conflict Studies proudly offers community conflict resolution services, particularly relevant to the areas of: 1) public policy, 2) neighborhood and school conflict, and 3) violence prevention.
For more information, please contact Dr. Fred Pearson, Director for the Center for Peace and Conflict Studies ab3440@wayne.edu.
Music
"All You Need is Love," Baby, You're a Rich Man. The Beatles (1967).
"What a Wonderful World," Cabaret. Louis Armstrong (1967).
"Give Peace a Chance," John Lennon. Recorded 1 June 1969, Room 1742, Queen Elizabeth Hotel, Montreal, Quebec, Canada.
"Peace Train," Where do the Children Play? B Side. Cat Stevens. (1971).
"Imagine," Imagine A Side. John Lennon (1971).
"We Are the World" is a song and charity single originally recorded by the supergroup USA for Africa in 1985. Written by Michael Jackson and Lionel Richie.
Picture of the Display
The Peace Symbol
"Dreamers," Graduation day at Indiana University - June 1971.
View more photos from The Peace Symbol's 50th Anniversary below.
- The Peace Symbol's 50th AnniversaryImages from Peace: The Biography of Symbol.
Take a trip through the decades with National Geographic to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the peace symbol, based on a new book by Ken Kolsbun, available at http://www.nationalgeographic.com/books.
Reconciliation & Forgiveness
War and Reconciliation by Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Library JZ 5597 .L66 2003ISBN: 0262122545Publication Date: 2002-12-20This is a systematic examination of the impact of reconciliation on restoring and maintaining peace following civil and international conflicts. Through 11 case studies of civil war and 20 of international conflict, it constructs an explanation for why and when reconciliation restores social order.
- 2013 Addendum of Bibliography of Nonviolent Materials for AdultsRosemary Doyle
Compiled by Citizens for Peace
Peace and Justice Digital Resource Center
Extensive list of nonviolent materials available through your local library network, MelCat, or WorldCat. - Forgive and Forget: Differences between Decisional and Emotional ForgivenessTo forgive and forget is a well-known idiom, which has rarely been looked at empirically. In the current experiment, we investigated differences between emotional and decisional forgiveness on forgetting.
- Unilateral Forgiveness and the Task of ReconciliationAlthough forgiveness is often taken to bear a close connection to the value of reconciliation, there is a good deal of skepticism about its role in situations where there is no consensus on the moral complexion of the past and no admission of guilt on the part of the perpetrator. Watkins aims to demonstrate that forgiveness deserves to be taken seriously as a means to civic reconciliation in a broader range of situations than many have allowed.
Jane Addams Children's Book Award
Jane Addams was a world renowned social worker. Most connected with her work in Chicago with Hull House, she worked for peace and freedom, justice and equality tirelessly in many arenas her entire, very long life. Jane Addams won the Nobel Peace Prize in 1931. She was the first American woman to win this prestigious award. She is considered by many to be the "mother " of modern social work.
"Jane Addams," Jane Addams Peace Association
- Jane Addams Children's Book AwardThe Jane Addams Children's Book Awards are given annually to the children's books published the preceding year that effectively promote the cause of peace, social justice, world community, and the equality of the sexes and all races as well as meeting conventional standards for excellence.
Jane Addams Children's Book Award by Call Number: electronic bookISBN: 9780810892033Publication Date: 2013-01-01The first book to examine the Jane Addams Children’s Book Award as well as its winners and honor books. Susan C. Griffith reviews and synthesizes Addams s ideas and legacy, so that her life and accomplishments can be used as a focal point for exploring issues of social justice through children’s literature. In addition to a history and overview of the award, this work contains annotated bibliographies with thematically arranged winners and honor books bestowed in Addams s name.
Mildred Jeffrey Collection of Peace and Conflict Resolution
"Lady Bird Johnson, Millie Jeffrey, Labor Day, 1964"
Walter P. Reuther Library Tony Spina Collection - Portraits
Named for the labor-movement activist Mildred Jeffrey, the Mildred Jeffrey Collection of Peace and Conflict Resolution was donated to the WSU Libraries in 1990. Adult materials were interfiled throughout the regular collection, while children's books have been kept together on the fourth floor of the Purdy/Kresge Library. This collection focuses on the issues of international peace, conflict resolution, human rights, environmental studies, and social justice. The Jeffrey Collection is under continuing development and is currently being expanded to include non-print materials. Growth of this collection is supported by the proceeds of the Mildred Jeffrey Peace and Conflict Collection Fund.
Peace Is a Circle of Love by Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Library Jeffrey Juvenile 811.54 An46pISBN: 0152599223Publication Date: 1993-10-15In her classic style of illustration, Anglund draws the children of the world working together, learning together, and playing together-celebrating their differences and their similarities.
Peace Tales by Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Library Jeffrey Juvenile 398.2 P313ISBN: 0208023283Publication Date: 1992-06-01Entertain young listeners while providing paths for conflict resolution that can be discussed afterward. These stories are authentic folk literature, flashing with the mirror images of war and peace. Children as young as six can learn to see the choices before them. How to make peace happen by choosing peace and working hard for it is at the heart of this book.
Spread Love
Looking for ways to spread peace and love in your community? Consider becoming involved in these local and national charities and organizations:
- Gleaners Community Food BankFeeding Hungry People and Nourishing Our Communities. Gleaners distributes more than 41 million pounds of food annually to more than 550 soup kitchens, food pantries, homeless shelters, senior homes and other nonprofit agencies that feed hungry people in southeast Michigan. 59% of those receiving Gleaners food are children and seniors. Every dollar donated to Gleaners provides three meals for a hungry neighbor.
- Focus: HOPERecognizing the dignity and beauty of every person, we pledge intelligent and practical action to overcome racism, poverty, and injustice. And to build a metropolitan community where all people may live in freedom, harmony, trust and affection. Black and white, yellow, brown and red from Detroit and its suburbs of every economic status, national origin and religious persuasion we join in this covenant.
- American Red CrossThe American Red Cross exists to provide compassionate care to those in need. Our network of generous donors, volunteers and employees share a mission of preventing and relieving suffering, here at home and around the world, through five key service areas: disaster relief, supporting America’s military families, lifesaving blood, health and safety services, and international services.
- The Salvation ArmyThe Salvation Army is serving more people in the United States than ever before. We are already seeing large increases in the number of Americans seeking the basic necessities of life - food, shelter, and warmth. Approximately 30 million people received help from The Salvation Army last year.
- Dominican Literacy Center: One-to-One LearningThe Dominican Literacy Center enables learners to transform their lives by acquiring skills to become successful parents, productive workers and responsible citizens.