Connect with the Libraries
Have an idea for Subject of the Month?
October 2015
Selectors: Veronica Bielat & Emily Brush
"Bullying touches so many lives and it often inspires the generous spirit in people who want to make a difference, support the cause, and change something that has happened to too many for too long. Every day students, parents, schools, and community members ask us, “What can I do to help?” Every contribution—whether it’s hosting a community event, standing up for someone, or giving a donation to an organization that addresses bullying—makes a difference and changes lives."
-PACER's National Bullying Preventon Center, "Get Involved!"
Bullying at School
Filmed over the course of the 2009/2010 school year, BULLY opens a window onto the pained and often endangered lives of bullied kids, revealing a problem that transcends geographic, racial, ethnic and economic borders. It documents the responses of teachers and administrators to aggressive behaviors that defy “kids will be kids” clichés, and it captures a growing movement among parents and youths to change how bullying is handled in schools, in communities and in society as a whole.
School Bullying by Call Number: Law Library KF 4159 .H36 2012ISBN: 9781614386278Publication Date: 2014-01-07This guide reviews state statutes and case law concerning bullying, explores the constitutional issues that arise from the application of antibullying regulations, examines federal guidance on harassment, and offers suggestions for a systematic approach to bullying.
Rethinking School Bullying by Call Number: electronic resourceISBN: 9780415636261Publication Date: 2012-12-12This book focuses on the role of domination and identity construction, understanding and self-knowledge, moral transformation and the social community, systems of training and hierarchy used by schooling, and the role they play in bullying. It shows how bullying might make sense to a student as a pathway of identity construction. It suggests how we "tell a new story" and create a new culture which might undermine, or close off, the allure of bullying as a "need-meeting" avenue for students within schools.
Children and Bullying by Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Library LB 3013.3 .R532 2008ISBN: 9781405162531Publication Date: 2007-12-17Provides clear explanations and effective strategies for combating bullying among children and preventing children from becoming involved in bullying situations. Emphasizes the role student bystanders can play in countering bullying, and how to promote positive bystander behaviors. Examines contentious research, such as the role genetics or parenting in early childhood may play in creating bullies and victims.
Workplace Bullying
Workplace Bullying Institute is the first and only U.S. organization dedicated to the eradication of workplace bullying that combines help for individuals, research, books, public education, training for professionals-unions-employers, legislative advocacy, and consulting solutions for organizations.
The Handbook of Dealing with Workplace Bullying a Worldview by Call Number: electronic resourceISBN: 9781472455178Publication Date: 2015-07-17New case studies are supplied by people working with and within HR teams who have professional experience of dealing with the issue, as well as practical suggestions that are of use to managers, to people accused of bullying and also to people who find they are targets of bullying. The book reflects the variety of options for dealing with bullying that are relevant in different parts of the world, and focuses on advice that is pertinent in real life.
Bullying in the Workplace by Call Number: electronic resourceISBN: 9781135126377Publication Date: 2013-08-15This volume written by experts in a wide range of fields including Industrial and Organizational psychology, Counseling, Management, Law, Education and Health presents research on relational and social aggression issues which can result in lost productivity, employee turnover and costly lawsuits.
Workplace Bullying by Call Number: electronic resourceISBN: 113647417XPublication Date: 2012-04-04This book explores the impact of bullying from the perspective of both the employee and the organization in which they work. In addition to describing the negative outcome of bullying, Workplace Bullying also looks at ways to promote resilience and the opportunity for growth and learning to take place. Workplace Bullying is essential reading for anyone with responsibility to help and support workers involved in bullying as a victim, supporter, or investigator.
Loraleigh Keashly, Ph.D., WSU Department of Communication
Interim Associate Dean, Curricular and Student Affairs for CFPCA and Associate Professor in the Department of Communication at Wayne State University. Her research, teaching and consulting focus on conflict and conflict resolution at the interpersonal, group, intergroup and organizational level. She is part of the core faculty of the MA in Dispute Resolution program, having served as Academic Director of the MADR for more than a decade.
Her main research focus is the nature, effects and amelioration of uncivil and bullying behaviors in the workplace with a particular interest in the role of organizational structure and culture in the facilitation or prevention and management of these behaviors. Her works in progress focus on 1) the power of relationships at work and 2) civility in academia. She has published over 40 articles and book chapters.
- Faculty Experiences with Bullying in Higher Education: Causes, Consequences, and ManagementIn this article, we discuss what is currently known about bullying in academia, with a particular focus on faculty behavior, and apply empirical and conceptual findings from research on aggression and bullying in other work settings and the significant literature on conflict management in higher education.
Bullying and Harassment in the Workplace by Call Number: electronic resourceISBN: 9781439804902Publication Date: 2010-09-30This book examines the concept of bullying and harassment at work and its measurement, documenting the existence and consequences of the problem. It explores a variety of explanatory models and presents available empirical evidence that sheds light on where, when, and why bullying develops. It contains a wide range of contributions on the possible remedies for prevention and minimization of the problem for management when it occurs, and for healing the wounds and scars it may have left on those exposed.
Keashly, Chapter 2, North American Perspectives on Workplace Hostility and Bullying
Keashly, Chapter 19, Workplace Bullying, Conflict and Conflict Resolution
Insidious Workplace Behavior by Call Number: electronic resourceISBN: 9780203849439Publication Date: 2010-06-23Contributors examine the many forms that IWB takes, focusing on its antecedents, consequences, and moderators. They also highlight ways that organizational leaders can manage and constrain IWB so as to attenuate its adverse effects. And to promote both theory and practice in IWB, contributors also discuss the special problems associated with researching IWB and strategies for overcoming them. Aimed at students, scholars, and practitioners in the organizational sciences - especially industrial-organizational psychology, organizational behavior, and human resource management.
Keashly, Chapter 2: The Means, Motive, and Opportunity Framework and Aggressive Workplace Behavior
Cyberbullying
What is Cyberbullying?
"Cyberbullying is bullying that takes place using electronic technology. Electronic technology includes devices and equipment such as cell phones, computers, and tablets as well as communication tools including social media sites, text messages, chat, and websites.
Examples of cyberbullying include mean text messages or emails, rumors sent by email or posted on social networking sites, and embarrassing pictures, videos, websites, or fake profiles."
A federal government website managed by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
- Is Cyberbullying Worse than Traditional Bullying? Examining the Differential Roles of Medium, Publicity, and Anonymity for the Perceived Severity of BullyingThe present studies investigated the relative importance of medium (traditional vs. cyber), publicity (public vs. private), and bully’s anonymity (anonymous vs. not anonymous) for the perceived severity of hypothetical bullying scenarios.
Impacts of Cyberbullying, Building Social and Emotional Resilience in Schools by Call Number: electronic resourceISBN: 9783319040318Publication Date: 2014-01-04This volume explores cyberbullying and its impact on young people in schools in detail. It investigates social and emotional resilience and well being in relation to developing protective factors against the impacts of cyberbullying and contains a range of perspectives to deal positively with cyberbullying as well as a summary of international research.
Cyberbullying by Call Number: electronic resourceISBN: 9781849051057Publication Date: 2010-04-01Packed with advice, games and activities for groups and individuals to help young people understand what cyberbullying is, how they should behave online and how they can stay safe. Activities are designed to encourage young people to think about their own behavior and attitudes and give them the skills and knowledge to stay safe in a digital world.
National Bullying Prevention Center - PACER
Founded in 2006, PACER’s National Bullying Prevention Center actively leads social change, so that bullying is no longer considered an accepted childhood rite of passage. PACER provides innovative resources for students, parents, educators, and others, and recognizes bullying as a serious community issue that impacts education, physical and emotional health, and the safety and well-being of students.
- Student Activity KitThe kit features theme weeks, classroom projects, and student engagement to promote kindness, acceptance, and inclusion to prevent bullying for K-12 classrooms
- Community ToolkitsFree, downloadable toolkits designed for students and community members to hold events, raise awareness and share information about bullying prevention.
Juvenile & Young Adult Fiction
Wonder by Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Library Ramsey Collection 18740ISBN: 9780375869020Publication Date: 2012-02-14August Pullman was born with a facial difference that, up until now, has prevented him from going to a mainstream school. Starting 5th grade at Beecher Prep, he wants nothing more than to be treated as an ordinary kid--but his new classmates can't get past Auggie's extraordinary face. In a world where bullying among young people is an epidemic, this is a refreshing new narrative full of heart and hope.
Interested in looking at Wonder by, R.J. Palacio?
Wonder is located in the Ramsey Collection of Literature for Young People, a closed collection of rare books and periodicals related to children's literature from the late 18th century to the present, and located in the Purdy/Kresge Library. Books and materials in the collection are not available for check out and must be used in the Purdy reference area.
To request an item, use the "Request Closed Item" link found on the right-hand side of the catalog record displayed for the material (or access the request form directly). Fill in all requested information, including Call Number as it appears in the catalog record, and check the box marked "Ramsey Collection" before submitting. Ramsey collection requests can take up to 24 hours to fulfill, and are delivered to the Purdy/Kresge Reference Desk when ready.
Max Quigley by Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Library Juvenile Fiction R8121mISBN: 9780547152639Publication Date: 2009-03-16Main character Max Quigley is no angel; in fact one might call him a bully. But even as he taunts "wimpy Nerdstrom," he also begins to understand him. A most unlikely friendship grows. In the end, Max wins readers over, keeps them laughing, shows he is capable of change, and ultimately, brings us to a better understanding of boy dynamics.
Pepita and the Bully by Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Library Juvenile Fiction L1185pISBN: 9781558856899Publication Date: 2011-05-31Ofelia Dumas Lachtman pairs with illustrator Alex Pardo DeLange to introduce children ages 4 8 to an important subject through the antics of plucky little Pepita. Kids will learn--along with Pepita--how to deal with overbearing kids.
Jun Sung Hong, Ph.D., WSU School of Social Work
Jun Sung Hong received his Ph.D. at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign and joined the Wayne State University School of Social Work faculty as an assistant professor in 2013. He is also an adjunct assistant professor at Sungkyunkwan University (summer only) in Seoul, South Korea (beginning in summer of 2015). For the past several years, Hong has conducted research, both in the United States and South Korea, on issues related to bullying/peer victimization, school violence, interpersonal violence, child welfare, and cultural competency in social work practice. His research has been published in major peer-reviewed journals, such as Journal of Adolescence, Children and Youth Services Review, International Social Work, Aggression and Violent Behavior, Educational Psychology Review, Journal of Child and Family Studies, and Child Psychiatry and Human Development.
- A conceptual framework for understanding the association between school bullying victimization and substance misuseThis article reviews current research findings and presents a conceptual framework for better understanding the relationship between bullying victimization and substance misuse among adolescents.
- A Review of Bullying Prevention and Intervention in South Korean Schools: An Application of the Social–Ecological FrameworkProvides a synthesis and evaluation of the existing research on bullying prevention and intervention strategies in South Korean schools, set within Bronfenbrenner’s social–ecological contexts, including the micro- (i.e., family, peer, school), meso- (i.e., family–school), and macro- (i.e., religion, policies) systems.
- Family Violence, Bullying, Fighting, and Substance Use Among Adolescents: A Longitudinal Mediational ModelThis study assessed the longitudinal, reciprocal relations among family violence, bullying perpetration, fighting perpetration, and adolescent substance use using a sample of 1,232 students from four Midwestern middle schools. Students completed measures on family dynamics, bullying and fighting behaviors, and alcohol and drug use three times over 18 months.
WSU Counseling and Psychological Services (CAPS)
CAPS is part of Student Services and is the university agency dedicated to provide counseling and psychological services for Wayne State students and to provide consultation and outreach to the university community in support of student welfare. CAPS promotes a culture of understanding and growth through professional collaboration among the dynamic staff, which consists of licensed professional counselors, psychologists, and social workers. CAPS is fully accredited by the International Association of Counseling Services.
WSU Registered Students
Free and confidential personal, couples, and group counseling is available to you. You can stop by to complete a short screening assessment to see which of our services best meets your needs.
Faculty, Department Representatives & Student Groups
We will engage in Outreach Events as requested by faculty and the university community. We provide Consultation Services on how to respond to student's psychological and emotional needs as requested
Parents of Wayne State Students
As a parent, you can request Consultation about resources. We provide Coordination of Care for any student who needs local mental health providers. We are happy to present Talks to parent groups on topics of interest
5221 Gullen Mall
Room 552 Student Center Building
Detroit, Michigan 48202
Phone: 313-577-3398
After Hours: 313-577-9982