Help us improve this site.
Please Give Feedback
Text a librarian anytime, anywhere! 313-228-3WSU
We now have a 24/7 chat service to answer your questions about library services and resources as well as help you with your research questions, projects and assignments anytime that you need it, day or night.
Read More
Explore Special Collections
The Libraries have many rare and unique materials for you to use in your research.
Read More
PREV
NEXT
Best Bet
Articles
Databases
Digital Commons @ Wayne State
Books and Media
Journals
Digital Collections
Wayne.edu Search
Research Guides
Can't find what you're looking for?
We can help you find it.
Access resources at other university libraries.
Browse subject and course guides compiled by librarians.

Library and Information Science

This is a guide for research in Library and Information Science.

Welcome!

Welcome!

This guide is your starting place for research in Library and Information Science.

You will find library resources and high-quality web resources related to:

And course-specific content for core requirements:

Please contact me, if I can help you.  I will make every effort to meet with you via email, telephone, or appointment.

Thank You!

 

Rachael Clark,

Librarian Liaison for the School of Library and Information Science

This guide is a collaborative work-in-progress, developed with the suggestions and feedback from students and faculty in the School of Library and Information Science.

Basic Reference and Research

The Elements of Library Research by Mary W. George; Mary W. W. George

This book introduces students to the information-seeking process. It focuses on basic concepts, strategies, tools, and tactics for research--in both electronic and print formats.

eBook, requires WSU Access ID & Password

Encyclopedia of Library and Information Sciences by Marcia J. Bates; Mary Niles Maack

The third edition reflects the growing convergence among the several disciplines that concern themselves with information and the cultural record. Covered are archives, museum studies, informatics, information systems, knowledge management, records management, document and genre theory, bibliography, and social studies of information, in addition to library and information science.

eBook, requires WSU Access ID & Password

Librarian's Guide to Online Searching by Suzanne S. Bell

Strategies and tools for efficient online searching in this guide to commonly available subject databases. Sample exercises and questions to test searching skills are based on real-world problems.

eBook, requires WSU Access ID & Password

Online Searching by Karen Markey

A complete guide for the aspiring expert searcher, explaining important online searching concepts and practices, demonstrating them visually in figures and videos, and inviting you to get hands-on practice by completing its end-of-the-chapter questions and comparing your online experiences with its suggested answers.

eBook, requires WSU Access ID & Password

Other Relevant Guides

Want to Learn More?

Research Guides On Related Topics: 

Archives and Special Collections:
Data & Statistics
Special Topics:

Your Library Account

Discovering Library Resources

Summon Discovery Tool logo  

Summon allows you to search almost all of the library's full-text resources simultaneously. It can be a good place to start your search. The Powerpoint below provides a brief overview on using Summon and the short video demonstrates advanced search techniques.  Use the search box to give it a try!

Search here for articles, books, and more.


 

Wayne State University Library System Instructional Videos

WSULS YouTube Channel Banner

Liaison Librarian

Rachael Clark
Contact:
425 Purdy/Kresge Library
(313) 577-6709

Need Help?

Chat or Email

Ask A Librarian Logo

Reference Desks

Undergraduate (UGL): 313-577-8852
Purdy/Kresge: 313-577-6423
Arthur Neef Law: 313-577-6180
Shiffman Medical: 313-577-1094