Power Searching
- PICO Search Strategy WorksheetThis worksheet can be used to help develop a strategy for searching using the PICO method and to keep track of keywords and synonyms used in searches. If the worksheet is downloaded, the fields can be filled out and saved for later.
- Power Searching ToolsA collection of tools that may be used to make your searches in PubMed and Google Scholar more effective.
Hierarchy of Evidence
Why We Cite
Help with APA Style
The College of Education uses the APA 6th Edition style manual for paper and citation formatting. Applying APA style correctly is an important step in preventing plagiarism. These resources can help you if you are unfamiliar with APA style or need clarification on how to properly cite a source.
- How to Cite References Using APA StyleExamples of citations in APA style for articles, books, book chapters, and more.
- APA Formatting and Style GuideExamples of in-text citations, easy to use information from formatting to citing. From Purdue OWL.
- Basics of APA StyleFrom the APA website, a series of short tutorials that explain how to format your paper, references, in-text citations and more in APA style.
- Using ZoteroZotero is free app you can use to organize your citations and PDFs. It also integrates with Word and other word processing software to help you properly format in-text citations and reference lists.
Google Scholar vs. PubMed vs. Web of Science
- Google Scholar vs. PubMed vs. Web of ScienceCheck out this chart to learn the differences between these different resources.
Plagiarism: how to avoid it
Draft Plagiarism Check
Databases
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowCINAHL Complete is a comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 750 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index with no embargo. CINAHL Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
- ERIC - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowThe ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. The ERIC database corresponds to two printed journals: Resources in Education (RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). Both journals provide access to some 14,000 documents and over 20,000 journal articles per year.
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments This link opens in a new windowHealth and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) provides information about behavioral measurement instruments, abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering health and psychosocial sciences. Additionally, instruments from Industrial/Organizational Behavior and Education are included. Records provide information on questionnaires, interview schedules, vignettes/scenarios, coding schemes, rating and other scales, checklists, indexes, tests, projective techniques, and more.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowHealth Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides researchers, allied health professionals, nurses and medical educators with access to full-text scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines. It provides indexing, abstracts and full-text for hundreds of nursing and allied health journals, many of which are peer-reviewed.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowContains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
- PubMed@Wayne This link opens in a new windowPubMed is a project developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH)--Overview. NLM's search service to access the 9 million citations in MEDLINE and Pre-MEDLINE (with links to participating on-line journals), and other related databases --Home page.
- Sports Medicine & Education Index This link opens in a new windowRecords are indexed and classified from peer-reviewed journals, report literature, conference proceedings, trade magazines, patents, articles from the popular press, and many other publications. Coverage includes physical education curricula, sports medicine, dance, sport law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, and sport sociology/psychology.
The PICO Method
The PICO (Population/patient, Intervention, Comparison, Outcome) method is often used to search for clinical research or describe a research question. For a more detailed description, watch the video below:
Searching with Boolean Operators
Tips!
When you're searching, keep in mind you may need to try multiple terms! For example, when looking for research articles about motor skills development, I may try adding and motor skills to my search. If that doesn't work, I could add and technique or and coaching. For example, if I am looking into Bulgarian split squats, I could initially search Bulgarian split squats and motor skill development. But, I see that I have very few results. So, I may alter my search to squat and technique or squat and motor development to still capture my research question while broadening my results.
- Efficiency in Kinesiology: Innovative Approaches in Enhancing Motor Skills for Athletic PerformanceThis book is a reprint of the Special Issue Efficiency in Kinesiology: Innovative Approaches in Enhancing Motor Skills for Athletic Performance that was published in Journal of Functional Morphology and Kinesiology