Finding Scholarly Information
Finding scholarly information
- Developing a search strategy using PICOThis worksheet can be used to help develop a strategy for searching using the PICO method and to keep track of keywords and synonyms used in searches. If the worksheet is downloaded, the fields can be filled out and saved for later.
- Power SearchingLearn to use connectors, wildcards, and other special commands to power search in Google, Google Scholar, and library databases.
You can start your search using Summon (the search box below), the Library's discovery system. This is a very broad search that will find full-text articles, books, and more. The other databases listed will provide more targeted information as they are more specialized.
For all of them, you can use the limiters on the left side of your search results to select Scholarly/Peer Review (depends on the database) and Journal Article to get articles from peer-reviewed scholarly journals.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowPsychology and related disciplines including medicine, nursing, sociology, and education
- Sports Medicine & Education Index This link opens in a new windowRecords are indexed and classified from peer-reviewed journals, report literature, conference proceedings, trade magazines, patents, articles from the popular press, and many other publications. Coverage includes physical education curricula, sports medicine, dance, sport law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, and sport sociology/psychology.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowNursing and Allied Health Literature, great for interdisciplinary searching
- PubMed@Wayne This link opens in a new windowBiomedical and life science journal articles (and for some books) from 1946 to the present
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowHealth Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides researchers, allied health professionals, nurses and medical educators with access to full-text scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines. It provides indexing, abstracts and full-text for hundreds of nursing and allied health journals, many of which are peer-reviewed.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowWith more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete is THE database for journal articles from all disciplines of business. Also includes additional full text content including financial data, books, conference proceedings, case studies, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Understanding Information Sources
Understanding information sources
Infographic: Types of Scientific Evidence
From the Compound Interest website: https://www.compoundchem.com/2015/04/09/scientific-evidence/
The PICO Method
The PICO (Population/patient, Intervention, Comparison, Outcome) method is often used to search for clinical research or describe a research question. For a more detailed description, watch the video below:
Power Searching
- PICO Search Strategy WorksheetThis worksheet can be used to help develop a strategy for searching using the PICO method and to keep track of keywords and synonyms used in searches. If the worksheet is downloaded, the fields can be filled out and saved for later.
- Power Searching ToolsA collection of tools that may be used to make your searches in PubMed and Google Scholar more effective.