Librarian
Searching Databases for Articles
Searching for scholarly journal articles
You can start your search using Summon (the search box below), the Library's discovery system. This is a very broad search that will find full-text articles, books, and more on your topic. Use the limiters on the left side of your search results to select only Scholarly & Peer Review and Journal Article to get articles from peer-reviewed scholarly journals.
- PICO Search Strategy WorksheetThis worksheet can be used to help develop a strategy for searching using the PICO method and to keep track of keywords and synonyms used in searches. If the worksheet is downloaded, the fields can be filled out and saved for later.
Connecting to Full Text Articles
Article Databases for KHS
These databases are great places to find scholarly articles. A library database is a collection of information that you can search online. Academic libraries purchase database subscriptions so users can find what they need. In a library database, you can find: scholarly peer-reviewed articles, newspaper and magazine articles, dissertations, and trade publications.
Following are recommended databases you can search to locate articles in the field of Kinesiology, Health and Sport Studies.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowCovers all disciplines of business and includes journal articles, financial data, case studies, industry and market research reports, and more.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowCINAHL is a nursing and allied health database, but its interdisciplinary focus makes it one of the best sources for KHS-related research.
- ERIC - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowSponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature.
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments This link opens in a new windowHealth and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) provides information about behavioral measurement instruments, abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering health and psychosocial sciences. Additionally, instruments from Industrial/Organizational Behavior and Education are included. Records provide information on questionnaires, interview schedules, vignettes/scenarios, coding schemes, rating and other scales, checklists, indexes, tests, projective techniques, and more.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowHealth Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides researchers, allied health professionals, nurses and medical educators with access to full-text scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines. It provides indexing, abstracts and full-text for hundreds of nursing and allied health journals, many of which are peer-reviewed.
- HeinOnline’s Business and Legal Aspects of Sports and EntertainmentHeinOnline’s Business and Legal Aspects of Sports and Entertainment (BLASE) is designed to assist researchers in locating sources relevant to the many issues surrounding these critically important subject areas, both of which have now attained global prominence. Organized into sixteen tabs, each covering a distinct type of material, the database builds upon HeinOnline’s historical strengths in legal periodical literature, case law, and U. S. federal and state materials by providing a unique topical arrangement for the documents within each tab while also adding many important new resources not previously available in HeinOnline.
- Sports Medicine & Education Index This link opens in a new windowArticles from a wide variety of resources, including scholarly, trade, and popular sources, on topics related to physical education.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new windowThough not specifically related to KHS, ProQuest Central is a good multi-disciplinary database which is likely to have articles on any topic you're interested in.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowThough PsycINFO is a psychology database, it has an interdisciplinary focus that makes it useful for research in KHS disciplines.
- PubMed@Wayne This link opens in a new windowA service of the National Library of Medicine and National Institutes of Health, and a great resource for finding research in the medical fields.
- More DatabasesThere are a lot more databases to search. Select this link, then select the ALL button to see a list of databases you may consider searching for your topic. Read the database description for more information about its contents.
Journals and Books (online and in print) for KHS
Books & ebooks:
Journals & Magazines (onlines and in print):
Internet Resources for KHS
- MEDLINEplus This link opens in a new windowAn extensive, publicly-available guide to health information resources, including common diseases and conditions, dictionaries, organizations, consumer health libraries, and more.
- USA.gov HealthFreely available US government educational publications - pamphlets, brochures, information sheets, guidebooks and more.
- Center for Science in the Public Interest (CSPI)CSPI's mission is educate the public and advocate government policies that are consistent with scientific evidence on health and environmental issues.