Internet Resources for KHS
- MEDLINEplus This link opens in a new windowAn extensive, publicly-available guide to health information resources, including common diseases and conditions, dictionaries, organizations, consumer health libraries, and more.
- USA.gov HealthFreely available US government educational publications - pamphlets, brochures, information sheets, guidebooks and more.
- Center for Science in the Public Interest (CSPI)CSPI's mission is educate the public and advocate government policies that are consistent with scientific evidence on health and environmental issues.
Patient Education Databases
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new windowA repository of medical knowledge from internal medicine, cardiology, genetics, pharmacy, diagnosis and management, basic sciences, patient care, and more. Continuously expanding, all databases in the repository contain the latest editions of selected medical titles.
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new windowFull text access to select health science textbooks, journals, procedural videos, clinical practice guidelines, drug information, patient handouts, and CME materials with particular emphasis on medicine and surgery.
- DynaMed This link opens in a new windowDynaMed is a next-generation clinical information resource, offering up-to-date, evidence-based medical information.
- Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new windowConsumer health information on subjects including fitness, nutrition, diabetes, aging, women's health, children's health, and more. Information comes from magazines, books, Clinical Reference System reports, and pamphlets.
- MEDLINEplus This link opens in a new windowAn extensive guide to health information resources. Includes common diseases and conditions, dictionaries, organizations, clearinghouses, publications, directories, consumer health libraries, MEDLINE and other medical databases.
- UptoDate Online This link opens in a new windowUpToDate is a comprehensive evidence-based clinical information resource composed of topic reviews which are written by physician authors. The topic reviews go through an extensive peer review process to ensure accuracy and reliability. UpToDate is designed to provide health care providers with concise, practical answers to medical questions at the point of care. Patrons are required to register for a free personal account to use UpToDate. The account will become inactive if it is not used for 30 days.
State of Michigan Resources for Consumer Health and Health Professionals
The Michigan Electronic Library, or MeL, is available to any Michigan resident with an internet connection. You can also access these resources in schools, public libraries and secondary education institutions, like Wayne State University.
MeL provides access to databases that contain scholarly, practitioner and quality consumer health information. It is a resource you can use when you are a professional in the field.
- MeL eResourcesA collection of databases and eResources from MeL, many of which are Health-related, available to any Michigan resident. Includes consumer, practitioner, and academic health resources.
- MeL eJournal CollectionA collection of eJournals and other publications available through MeL which are organized by discipline.
The PICO Method
The PICO (Population/patient, Intervention, Comparison, Outcome) method is often used to search for clinical research or describe a research question. For a more detailed description, watch the video below: